About Us

The Lillooet Regional Invasive Species Society (or LRISS for short) was incorporated as a non-profit society on April 18, 2011.  We have a Board of Directors composed of 3 officers and 3 directors.  LRISS has an open and free membership that includes the general public, St’át’imc First Nations, local, regional and provincial governments, public and private land managers.

LRISS Board of Directors

  • Sue Senger, PhD, RPBio, PAg: Chair
  • Mandi Rogers, Lillooet Livestock Association: Vice Chair
  • Bill Spencer, Yalakom Ecological Society: Treasurer
  • Gerald Michel, Xwísten Councilor: Director
  • Matt Manuel, Lillooet Tribal Council: Director
  • Travis Peters, Ts'kwaylaxw Forestry Manager: Director

 The mission statement of LRISS:  "The intent of LRISS is to reduce and minimize the negative environmental, social and economic impacts caused by the introduction, establishment and spread of invasive species in the Lillooet region."

 LRISS is one of 17 Regional Invasive plant or species committees in the province. We are region number 5 in the map below.